Italy – EoI 1058

CREA Research Centre for Food and Nutrition is the Coordinator of EoI 1058, with capabilities in the area of food sciences, human and basic nutrition, in particular to the understanding of the relationship between nutrition and health and to the comprehension of the mechanisms underlying the effects of nutrients. Special attention is paid to the physiological aspects and the molecular mechanisms related to the prevention of non-communicable diseases and to the maintenance of the health status. Great experience in applied researches on population, focused in the collection and analyses of food consumption data to evaluate adequacy of the diet in terms of energy and nutrient intake, exposure to chemical substances and environmental footprint. These studies allow focusing on aspects of food consumption, which may also explain consumers’ food choices. Population and intervention studies are targeted to all age population (e.g., children, adults, and elderly people). Population-based data are used as a basis for formulating food policy guidelines for healthier lifestyles, and setting up of consensus documents, e.g. dietary guidelines in the frame of chronic disease prevention. Expertise includes also development of healthy and sustainable food eating models, nutritional quality evaluation of protein-rich foods with special concerns on legumes, quality, structure and function of plant proteins and studies on the interactions between protein, minerals, vitamins and bioactive compounds. CREA Research Center for Cereal and Industrial Crops as member has a long experience in the development of genetic materials of Papilionaceae family, in particular to identify resistance genes, the development of associated molecular markers, and the phenotyping of germplasm of legumes. CREA Center for Research in Genomics and bioinformatics (Montanaso Lombardo, LOD)I as member has great experience in breeding programs targeted to adjust the nutrient/antinutrient balance of been seeds for obtaining plant foods with improved nutritional value. CREA Center for Research in Politics and Bioeconomy as member develops analyses of economic, social dynamics related to the agri-food, forestry and fisheries sectors.

EoI 1058 is involved in WP1 (task 1.1, 1.2, 1.3), WP2 (task 2.1), WP3 (task 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4), WP4 (task 4.2), WP5 (task 5.1, 5.2, 5.5) and WP6.

EoI responsable
Marika Ferrari
Researcher
marika.ferrari@crea.gov.it

People involved
Angela Polito
Researcher
angela.polito@crea.gov.it

Laura Censi
Researcher
laura.censi@crea.gov.it

Marina Carbonaro
Senior Researcher
marina.carbonaro@crea.gov.it

Anna Saba
Researcher
anna.saba@crea.gov.it

Fiorella Sinesio
Senior Researcher
fiorella.sinesio@crea.gov.it

Andrea Carboni
Researcher
andrea.carboni@crea.gov.it

Bruno Campion
Senior Researcher
bruno.campion@crea.gov.it

Alessia Losa
Researcher
alessia.losa@crea.gov.it

Filiberto Altobelli
Researcher
filiberto.altobelli@crea.gov.it

Link:

https://www.crea.gov.it/en/home

https://www.crea.gov.it/web/alimenti-e-nutrizione/-/iv-scai-studio-sui-consumi-alimentari-in-italia

https://www6.inrae.fr/sustainablediets/content/download/3408/33722/version/1/file/Final+report+SUSDIET+octobre+2017.pdf

https://www.susfans.eu/

https://www.healthydietforhealthylife.eu/index.php/dedipac